Konami is planning a new collection that combines all the major Metal Gear Solid games to date.

The Legacy Collection, which is scheduled to release on PlayStation 3 in June, includes more content than the previous HD Collection from the past few years. Metal Gear Solid 4 is one significant addition. The bundle also comes with two digital graphic novels illustrated by Ashley Wood.

The title contains the following games:

  • Metal Gear Solid
  • Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: HD Edition
  • Metal Gear Solid 3: HD Edition (plus the MSX versions of Metal Gear 1 and 2)
  • Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker HD Edition
  • Metal Gear Solid 4: Trophy Edition

If you already own most of these releases or the HD Collection, it's probably easier to buy whichever individual ones you're missing. Otherwise, VR Missions and the MSX versions of the earlier games round out the package nicely.

The Legacy Collection marks 25 years since the first Metal Gear. Kojima Productions is working on two new entries to the series: Metal Gear Solid 5: The Phantom Pain and Ground Zeroes.

Follow @wita on Twitter.


By Stephanie Carmichael